… and the Bird Flew Under the Bush

17 01 2009

“Napisa na!” (Finally hatched!), said my father excitedly.  I wondered what this was all about so I asked my parents while they were still engrossed in conversation.  So a nest was found in a shrub at the side of our house.  This was not the first time.  I remember sometime ago in our old house, my mother noticed that a different bird specie (The Philippine mayas are regulars in our yard) was frequenting our frontage.  Then one time when she decided to trim some of her plants, she discovered that there was a nest in one of the shrubs near the house front door. 

Bird's Nest

Now the same bird specie built a nest in a two-layered shrub at the side of the house. So excitedly I got my point-and-shoot camera to get a few shots.  I know this is intrusion of privacy, or trespassing.  I didn’t mean to cause any harm.  I just want to be a witness to something rare and beautiful.  Isn’t it beautiful? 

As I draw nearer, the head of the mother bird sitting on the nest came in sight.  This excited me more but after a few seconds, she flew out and stayed in our roof but after a while left the area. 

I waited for her return… After 15 minutes or so, she came in sight again but not getting any closer.  She knew and felt that I was in the vicinity.  I couldn’t afford to deprive the young birds so I finally decided to leave the area after taking some photos and get in the house.  I just contented myself with watching from inside, peeking thru the window in our living room. 

And so the reunion of the mother and the young.

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 01 2009
a cup of tea and a story

Last Saturday was the first and last time I checked on the nest. I’ll check tomorrow before we leave the house for the wedding. I hope that the baby birds are still there. About taking a shot of the mother bird, I’m not sure if I’ll have an opportunity. I tried last Saturday but I couldn’t get any closer to have a shot or two. 😦

22 01 2009
Vic

wow this is amazing…in the bustle and hustle of the city you never expect nature to unfold between your eyes…but it did…

try to get a closeup picture of the mother so we can figure out the bird’s species. having a maya nest in the area is uncommon but a different species? when I was still there it’s very rare to see a different bird species…so this is really exciting…please update your blog on what happens next…

Leave a Reply

