Raw Food Diet – A Great Discovery

14 03 2009

Raw Food

My first encounter with the raw food diet (not the regular vegetable/fresh fruit salad co’z I’ve been into it in a long time) was at The Farm’s Alive resto (a.k.a 85/15 Gourmet Cuisine) in 2004.  I never thought that I would give it a try myself right there in our own kitchen until 3 weeks ago. My memory was refreshed of my first experience with raw food when last December, I stumbled upon an article in the Philippine Daily Inquirer.  It featured culinary artist Cherie Lou Ignacio, former owner of the Quickmelt Ensaymada business, who was a “walking drugstore for most of her life” and who is probably 50 years old as of this writing “but looks 20 years younger, having lost more than 20 pounds”.  Who doesn’t want that?   

Not that I want to lose more pounds (co’z I’m already slim) that I finally started with raw food, it’s more of trying to achieve a healthier glow at my age.  During my countless researches, I’ve learned that the benefits include increased energy, improved skin appearance, better digestion, better concentration, weight loss and reduced risk of heart disease.  Raw and living foods are believed to be rich in essential enzymes co’z the cooking process is said to destroy food enzymes.  I’m sure at one point in time, you got an email or maybe you read an article about the benefits of eating fruits before your meals co’z the enzymes are already absorbed by the body before they putrefied.  That is based on the concept that enzymes are essential in the digestion process thus, must be absorbed first before our meals.  

So, my first raw food was a smoothie made from grapes, celery, parsley and flaxseed oil.  The taste was quite odd but you see, because I know the benefits of taking it, I thought I should learn to like it and would really like it in the long run.  Remember… we didn’t like some of our “first times”, am I right?

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 03 2009
a cup of tea and a story

Well, history says that fire wasn’t used for cooking until about 1 1/2 million years ago in South Africa and 300,000 years ago in China so that shows that the early people are feeding on raw foods. But of course, it’s a matter of perspective. I can’t consider myself a raw foodist co’z I still indulge on cooked foods (being a food adventurer), but only healthier foods.

21 03 2009
Matt

Interesting article about raw food. I have heard a great deal of positive comments about how people feel on a raw diet, but I have also heard that no traditional diet (since fire) consistent of 100% raw foods. Still, I think there is a lot to be said for eating living things.

Leave a Reply

