Return to Som’s

16 04 2009

Som's Noodle House

I had another lunch at Som’s today with my boss and colleagues.  This time, I didn’t get a hard time making a reservation at the airconditioned section, maybe because it’s Thursday.  Actually, the place was not fully occupied the whole lunchtime.

The new dishes we tried include the beef red curry (Php120) which had just the right spiciness. This is supposed to be the spiciest of them all (red, green, yellow) but yes, even those who don’t go for very spicy food can have this.   To fully savor the dish, we opted to have steamed rice only.  The other dish we had was  Pak Boong (water spinach or swamp cabbage) with Shrimp stir-fried in oyster sauce (Php120). There was no hint of spiciness although the photo on the wall showed some red chili pepper in this dish.  I didn’t see any pepper at all.   The other dishes we ordered were spring rolls again and Pad Thai with shrimps this time. The shrimps which go from medium to large is one thing I liked at Som’s.

Just before we got our bill, a small coaster arrived.  My colleague recognized right away one of the passengers, well-known film and TV director Binibining (Miss) Joyce Bernal.  Taking the seat facing me, I sort of had a chance to watch her closely.  I can discern that she’s already familiar with Som’s – must be a frequent diner there.  Seems like this hole-in-the-wall dining place has really gained a reputation in Thai dishes…  In one blog I read sometime ago, it was mentioned that some ABS-CBN people were also seen in this place.   

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 04 2009
a cup of tea and a story

I love both Thai and Vietnamese foods. Already tried authentic Thai dishes while in Bangkok and would also like to visit Vietnam soonest for another food trip. I think the spring roll with vermicelli and peanut sauce is a Vietnamese dish – tried one in Pho Hoa, a Vietnamese resto. Not sure though if Thai has its own version.

19 04 2009
VIc

i love thai food…love their fresh spring rolls (with vermicelli, cooked shrimp) with peanut sauce. Although I get mixed up with Thai and Vietnamese…I guess the two are very similar…I love curries…I cooked green or red thai curry once in a while…thai food is one thng i can have regularly…

Leave a Reply

