The World is Mourning for Michael Jackson

26 06 2009

Michael Jackson

The world was shocked as the news about the “King of Pop”, Michael Jackson spread. 

“He was pronounced dead on Thursday afternoon at UCLA Medical Center after arriving in a coma.  The singer was rushed to the hospital, a six-minute drive from the rented Bel-Air home in which he was living, shortly after noon by paramedics for the Los Angeles Fire Department. A hospital spokesman would not confirm reports of cardiac arrest. He was pronounced dead at 2:26 pm.” (www.nytimes.com)

I’m not really a big fan of Michael Jackson but when I heard the news on the radio within an hour of his death while I was on my way to work, I felt sad, of course.  Actually, I got this text joke last April 1 (April Fool’s Day) about his death.  I forwarded the text without realizing the punch line at the end.  Now, it’s no longer a joke…  He’s gone forever.

In the office, I jokingly asked a colleague if he has a compilation of his songs that he can play on his computer (which has a good speaker system).  After a few minutes, he started playing one of his songs… He was able to find a site that plays his songs right there and then.  While “Someone in the Dark” was playing, I felt a sudden intense sadness.  Why on earth did I feel that way?  I guess, it’s just but normal for such feeling to arise after the loss or death of someone, so much so for someone like the legendary Jackson.

“Michael, the world is in grief for such an untimely death of yours.  You may have wronged some people but I believe many still love you.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

