A Big No to Roro Port in El Nido!

29 08 2009

Just after I got home last night and while resting a bit on the sofa, I caught this news on TV about a plan to construct a Roll On Roll Off (Roro) port in El Nido, Palawan.  While new infrastructures greatly improve a certain locality, I personally don’t think this should be done in El Nido.  Ecotourism is the island’s  primary source of income as this is home to diverse ecosystems such as rainforest, mangroves, white sand beaches, coral reefs, and limestone cliffs.  It is the sanctuary of various marine species.  

“El Nido is a Protected Area and a part of the Coral Triangle, making it one of the most important aquatic biodiversity sites in the world,” said Eduardo Jarque, Jr., Undersecretary for Tourism Planning and Promotions.

I hope the Department of Tourism will continue to pursue its opposition to the plan.

Kayaking at the Big Lagoon El Nido

Kayaking at the Big Lagoon, El Nido (Photo courtesy of El Nido Resorts)

I’ve never been to El Nido but I had arranged a honeymoon trip to this paradise for my brother in Canada and his wife.   I’m hoping to get to see this place, too very soon.  Meantime, I would have to see Coron, Palawan first.  As of this writing, I’ve started to coordinate with Owen Ferrer for our Coron trip in December.   We’re all excited!!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

